
Now that retail marijuana is legal in Colorado, we all have a few 
things to know.
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BUYING | SELLING | GROWING
Must be 21. 
It is illegal for people under 21 to buy, have or use 
retail marijuana. It is a felony for adults to give, sell or 
share marijuana with anyone under 21.

Limits to buying. 
Only buy retail marijuana from licensed retail stores. 
Colorado residents age 21 and older can buy and 
possess up to one ounce of marijuana at a time.

Limits to selling. 
Only licensed retailers can sell their product. Adults 
over age 21 may give up to one ounce of marijuana to 
another adult 21 or older, but may not sell marijuana. 
This includes homegrown product. 

Follow grow rules. 
Coloradans may grow up to six marijuana plants per 
person in an enclosed, locked area. Check with your 
local laws before you grow – they may have stricter 
rules on growing. 

CITY | COUNTY | ORGANIZATIONS
Check local marijuana laws and policies. 
Cities, counties, schools, universities and employers 
may set their own rules and consequences. Check 
before you use. 

Know workplace policies.  
Even though it is legal here, your employer can still 
drug test for marijuana. Find out your work policies 
before you use.

Some hospitals drug test newborns. 
If a baby tests positive for marijuana at birth, Colorado 
law requires hospitals notify child protective services.

USING | HAVING | TRANSPORTING
No more than 1 ounce.  
Adults age 21 and older may have up to 1 ounce of 
marijuana. Having more may result in legal charges 
and fines. 

Illegal to use in public.  
No matter how you use marijuana - smoked, eaten, or 
vaped- it is not allowed in public places.

This includes:? 
Outdoor spaces like national and local parks, ski 
resorts, concert venues and indoor areas like  
restaurants, bars and common areas of apartment 
buildings is also illegal.

Keep it in Colorado.  
It is illegal to take marijuana out of the state. You 
cannot bring marijuana to the Denver International 
Airport. Leaving Colorado with any marijuana product  
is against the law. 

Do not drive high. 
It is illegal to drive under the influence of marijuana 
and you can get a DUI. It is also illegal to have an open 
marijuana package inside a car if some of the product 
is gone and it seems like it was used in the car.

FOR MORE ON THE RETAIL 
MARIJUANA LAWS AND  
REGULATIONS IN COLORADO, 
VISIT Colorado.gov/Marijuana. 
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DO NOT MIX MARIJUANA AND 
ALCOHOL.

Using alcohol and marijuana at 
the same time is more dangerous 
than using either alone. 

BE CAREFUL IF YOU TAKE 
MEDICATION.

There may be drug interactions 
between marijuana and your 
medication.

STORE IT SAFELY.

Marijuana products can be
confused for regular food 
or candy. 

Store all marijuana products in a 
locked area. Make sure children 
cannot see or reach the locked area. 
Keep marijuana in the child-resis-
tant packaging from the store. 

DRIVING WHILE HIGH MAY 
DOUBLE YOUR RISK OF A CRASH.

Marijuana makes driving more 
dangerous because it slows your 
reaction time and makes it harder 
to tell distances. 

Wait at least 6 hours after smoking or 
at least 8 hours after eating/drinking 
marijuana before driving, biking, 
skiing or doing other activities.

START SLOW. 

A single 10 mg serving of THC is 
likely enough to hurt your ability to 
drive, bike or do other activities, 
especially for occasional users.

While you quickly feel the effects 
from smoked or vaped marijuana, 
edibles can take up to 4 hours to take 
full effect. Start with less than one 
serving and wait before using more.

TIPS FOR SAFE
AND RESPONSIBLE USE
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Ask the marijuana retailer 
for more information if 
you are not sure about 
how to use a product 
safely and responsibly. 

SOME PEOPLE 
SHOULD NOT USE 
MARIJUANA. 

Pregnant or breastfeeding 
women should not use mari-
juana since it can harm their 
baby.

Young people should protect 
their growing brain by not using 
marijuana.

CONSIDER LONG-
TERM EFFECTS. 

Marijuana can hurt your mem-
ory, even a week after using.

HAVING A BAD TIME? 

If you are worried that you or 
someone else used too much 
marijuana, call the poison 
control hotline as soon as 
possible. Calling is free and 
you will get help quickly: 
1-800-222-1222. If symptoms 
seem bad, call 911 or go to an 
emergency room right away.

Calling for help in case of any 
drug or alcohol emergency 
can save lives. Colorado law 
protects people from some 
criminal charges, such as low 
level drug possession and use 
charges or minor in possession, 
if they call 911 or seek help for 
a medical emergency. Stay 
with the person and cooperate 
with police and emergency 
medical responders. 


