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FY22-SR #08. Add Prison as an Intermediate Sanction Confinement Facility (Statutory]

Recommendation FY22-SR #08

Amend §17-2-103, C.R.S,, to grant statutory authority to the Executive Director of the Colorado
Department of Corrections to confine parolees in a prison facility, in addition to utilizing jails, for the
purpose of confinement as an intermediate sanction for up to 14 days without filing a complaint seeking
revocation of parole. This will provide the Department of Corrections and parole officers additional
options for swift and sure intermediate sanctions.

Proposed Statutory Language

17-2-103. Arrest of parolee - revocation proceedings.

(1.5)

(d) If a parolee has a technical violation, the parolee’s community parole officer, with the approval of
the director of the division of adult parole or the director’s designee, may impose a brief term of
confinement in-the-countyfail not to exceed fourteen consecutive days, as an intermediate sanction.
(e) A parolee’s community parole officer must notify the parolee when a brief term of CONFINEMENT
incarcerationinjail may be imposed as an intermediate sanction against the parolee.

(f) CONFINEMENT AS AN INTERMEDIATE SANCTION MAY BE PROVIDED IN ANY FACILITY OPERATED
OR APPROVED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS OR IN A COUNTY JAIL. The division of adult
parole is responsible for reimbursing county jails for beds used as an intermediate sanction. The sheriff
of each county has the authority and discretion to determine the number of jail beds, if any, that are
available to the department of corrections in their respective facilities for the purpose of imposing an
intermediate sanction. If jail beds are unavailable in the local community of the facility in which the
parolee is being supervised, the division of adult parole is authorized to utilize ANY FACILITY OPERATED
OR APPROVED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS OR other available county jail beds if
transportation to and from the jail is provided to the parolee.

DISCUSSION

For current “swift & sure” sanctions (up to 14 days with no parole revocation filed) for technical parole
violations, it is recommended that the Colorado Department of Corrections be given statutory authority
to directly book into a prison facility, as well as utilizing jails, where that is an option, as currently
allowed in statute. The Parole Board may also modify conditions for technical parole violations as
authorized in statute. This will provide parole officers additional options for intermediate sanctions.
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