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The mission of the Commission is to enhance public 
safety, to ensure justice, and to ensure the 

protection of the rights of victims through the cost 
effective use of public resources. The work of the 

Commission will focus on evidence-based recidivism 
reduction initiatives and the  cost-effective 

expenditure of limited criminal justice funds.  
(C.R.S. 16-11.3.103(1)) 
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There has been a research-informed focus on: 
 

• Avoiding collateral consequences of a conviction 
• Removing barriers to work/job 
• Emphasizing needs/risk assessments and 

treatment/services 
• Justice/equity 
• Costs associated with incarceration 
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• Bail Subcommittee 
• Behavioral Health Task Force 
• Community Corrections 

Subcommittee 
• Community Corrections Task 

Force 
• Comprehensive Sentencing Task 

Force 
• Cost Savings Subcommittee 
• Direct File Subcommittee 
• Drug Policy Task Force 
• Juvenile Justice Task Force 

• Legislative Subcommittee 
• Minority Over-Representation 

Subcommittee 
• Probation Task Force 
• Re-Entry Oversight Committee 
o Incarceration Task Force 
o Transition Task Force 
o Sentencing Task Force 
o Post-Incarceration Supervision 

Task Force 
• Sex Offense/Offender Task Force 

Past and Present (in red)  
Commission Task Forces and Subcommittees 
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• Eliminate statutes that require mandatory revocation/suspension of 
driver’s license for conviction of non-driving offenses (exclude child 
support enforcement) (2008) 

• HB09-1266:  
• In FY09, 10,746 lost license 
• In FY10, 1,055 lost license 

 

• Clarify jail time credits/jail inmates awarded earned time (2008) 
• 7220 bed days saved in the year of implementation in Arapahoe 

County alone ($490,960) 
 

• Mandate that parolees receive credit for time spent in jail pending a 
technical parole revocation (2008) 

• HB09-1263 
 

• Probation/DOC establish technical violation units (2008) 
• Probation reduced TVs to prison 
• DOC implemented CVDMP (Colorado Violations Decision Making Process) 

EARLY REFORMS 
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• Increased the age of eligibility to 19 for individuals sentenced to 
the DOC’s Youthful Offender System (2009) 

• HB09-1122 
 

• Introduce a structured decision-making guide for use by the 
Colorado parole board (2009) 

• HB10-1374 
• Colorado Parole Board Release Guidelines Instrument 

• Use of actuarial risk scale (CARAS) 
• Determination of readiness 

• Annual report of progress and findings 
 

• Expand probation eligibility for those with multiple felony 
convictions (2009) 

• HB10-1338 
• Estimated to save $2.5M in DOC costs 
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EARLY REFORMS 



• Require mandatory jail time for those with multiple DUI offenses  
• HB10-1347 

 
 

• Provide for sealing certain drug offenses (2010) 
• HB 11-1167 

 
 

• Created the Correctional Treatment Board to consolidate and 
streamline funding and reporting (2011) (drug offender surcharge, 
SB318, HB1352) 

• HB12-1310 
 
 

• Exclude drug possession (2010) and walkaway “escapes” (2011) 
     as qualifying crimes for habitual offense charging  

• SB 11-096 
•  HB12-1213  
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EARLY REFORMS 



In  2009 the Drug Policy Task Force determined that a primary omission from 
current law was a means of assuring prompt and effective treatment for drug 
offenders. 
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From Nora Volkow, director of NIDA: 
 

We need to first recognize that drug addiction 
is a mental illness. It is a complex brain disease 

characterized by compulsive, at times 
uncontrollable drug craving, seeking, and use 
despite devastating consequences—behaviors 
that stem from drug-induced changes in brain 

structure and function…. 
    

 http:///www.nida.hih.gov/researcreports/comorbidity/index.html 

DRUG LAW REFORMS 2009/2012 



The Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice recommends 
that the public policy of Colorado recognize alcoholism and 
substance use disorders as illnesses and public health 
problems affecting the health, safety, economy, and general 
welfare of the state. 
 
The effectiveness of substance abuse treatment in the 
reduction of recidivism and victimization – and the associated 
cost benefit – has been confirmed by research. 
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DRUG LAW REFORMS 2009/2012 



• HB10-1352: Distinguished between use & possession and 
manufacturing & distribution. 
• Reduced penalties for use and possession 

• Use of Schedule I or II controlled substance lowered from F6 to 
M2  

• Use of Schedule III, IV, and V controlled substance lowered from 
M1 to M2 
 

• 12 months savings:  $949,437 
• 250 fewer individuals were sentenced post-1352, a decrease of 

7% in the size of the group sentenced for HB10-1352 drug crimes. 
• 79 fewer people sentenced to prison (a 19% decrease, including a 

29% decrease for African Americans and a 21% decrease for 
Hispanics). 
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DRUG LAW REFORMS 2009/2012 



Increase treatment availability prior to restructuring drug laws (2009) 
 

• Increase in Persistent Drunk Driver Surcharge ($550,000/year) (HB 10-1347) 

• Drug offender surcharge assessed doubled (HB10-1352) 

• $1,545,409 for community corrections treatment beds (HB10-1360) 

• $2,057,225 services for parolees (HB10-1360) 

• First $2M in medical marijuana sales/use tax fund substance abuse 
treatment programs (HB10-1284) 
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DRUG LAW REFORMS 2009/2012 



• SB13-250: created new drug grid, DF1-DF4/DM1,2, petty 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

• Allows a “wobbler”—Court may vacate the felony conviction and enter 
a misdemeanor conviction if defendant completes community based 
sentence (certain cases ineligible based on prior record) 

• Effective October 2013 

DRUG LEVEL PRESUMPTIVE  
RANGE 

AGGRAVATED 
RANGE 

PAROLE 

DF 1 8 – 32 years n/a 3 years 

DF 2 4 – 8 years 8 – 16 years 2 years 

DF 3 2 – 4 years 4 – 6 years 1 year 

DF 4 6 months – 1 year 1 – 2 years 1 year 

MINIMUM MAXIMUM 

DM 1 6 months, $500 fine or 
both 

18 months, $5,000 fine 
or both 

DM 2  $50 fine 12 months, $750 fine 
or both 
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DRUG LAW REFORMS 2009/2012 



• Restructuring the Theft statute (HB 13-1160) 

Offense  
Level 

Value 

F2 - 
F3 $20K and up 
F4 $1K -$20K 
F5 $1K -$20K (rental property) 
F6  - 
M1 $500 - $1K 
M2 Less than $500 
M3  - 
PO1  - 

Offense  
Level 

Value 

F2 $1M and up 
F3 $100K - $1M 
F4 $20K - $100K 
F5 $5K - $20K 
F6 $2K - $5K 
M1 $750 - $2K 
M2 $300 - $750 
M3 $100-$300 
PO1 Less than $100 

BEFORE AFTER 

Happening now: HB14-1266—thresholds being applied to criminal mischief, fraud by check, defrauding 
a secured creditor, and unauthorized use of a financial transaction device, and computer crime) 

March 14,  2014 13 

DRUG LAW REFORMS 2009/2012 



Offense Level Value 

F2 $1M and up 

F3 $100K - $1M 

F4 $20K - $100K 

F5 $5K - $20K 

F6 $2K - $5K 

M1 $750 - $2K 

M2 $300 - $750 

M3 $100-$300 

PO1 Less than $100 

1% 0% 

19% 

1% 1% 
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H.B. 13-1160 was signed 
into law on June 5, 2013. In 
the following tables cases 
filed in the six months after 
H.B. 13-1160 was enacted 
were compared to cases 
filed in the same six month 
period (July to December) 
of the previous year (2012). 
Denver County court 
records were not included. 
  
Figure: Cases with Theft 
(C.R.S. 18-4-401) as most 
serious filing charge pre- 
and post- H.B. 13-1160, by 
offense level. 
 

Data source: Court records were extracted from Judicial Branch’s Integrated Colorado Online Network (ICON) information management 
system via the Colorado Justice Analytics Support System (CJASS) and analyzed by DCJ/ORS.  Excludes Denver County court records. 
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Offense  Level Value 

F2 - 
F3 $20K and up 
F4 $1K -$20K 
F5 $1K -$20K (rental property) 

F6  - 
M1 $500 - $1K 
M2 Less than $500 
M3  - 
PO1  - 

DRUG LAW REFORMS 2009/2012 



• Clarified truancy and absence definitions, policies and procedures 
regarding attendance, identification of at-risk students 

• HB13-1021 
 

• Escape from a non-custodial facility for those 18+ is a misdemeanor not 
a felony 

• SB13-299 
 

• Allow juveniles who committed a sex offense to deregister as an adult 
after successful completion of the sentence 

• SB13-229   
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JUVENILE JUSTICE REFORMS 



• Implement evidence-based decision making practices 
 

• Discourage the use of financial bond for pretrial detainees 
• HB 13-1236 

 
• Establish a penalty for driving under the influence of marijuana    

(5 nanogram limit/permissible inference) (2012) 
• HB13-1325 

 
• Expand adult pretrial diversion (2013)  

• HB13-1156 ($390K) 
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BAIL REFORMS 



• Every case plan should be fully implemented and updated regularly 
(2008) 

• DOC is rolling out new automated case management system this 
spring 
 

• Invest in Evidence-Based Programming/Practice (2008) 
 

• Expand Judicial and Probation Officer Training (2008) 
 

• The General Assembly should invest in EPIC (2013) 
• $2M grant to CDPS Exec. Director’s office on behalf of the 

Commission 
• Trained over 4,300 criminal justice professionals in Mental Health 

First Aid and (and coached) Motivational Interviewing 
• HB13-1129 ($740K) 
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OTHER REFORMS 



• SB13-007 
• Repeal date: July 1, 2018 
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COMMISSION CONTINUATION! 
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