

5:00

Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice

Agenda

March 13, 2009
The State Patrol Academy
Bldg. 100, 15055 S. Golden Road
Golden, CO

1:00	Welcome Peter Weir, CCJJ Chair
1:15	Meeting Structure and Goals Regina Huerter, Re-Entry Oversight Chair
1:30	Panel One See presenters on reverse
2:30	Break
2:45	Panel Two See presenters on reverse
3:40	The Behavioral Healthcare Cabinet & The Transformation Transfer Initiative Leslie Herod, Governor's Office Andy Keller, Tri-West, Inc.
4:00	Discussion Regina Huerter & Paul Herman, CCJJ Consultant Clarifying questions Commonalities & Gaps Next Steps
	~

Purpose/ Goals of Meeting:

- Inform Commission members and participants of challenges presented by persons with behavioral health issues in the criminal justice system
- Identify system needs
- Determine criminal justice priorities set by behavioral health groups
- Create strategies to develop unified, focused approach to compliment current efforts and address gap areas

Closing Comments and Adjournment

Peter Weir

Next Meeting:

April 10, 2009, 12:30 to 4:30 pm National Enforcement Training Institute 12345 W. Alameda Parkway

PARTICIPANTS

Panel One: Criminal Justice-related Systems

Systems affected by those with behavioral health issues in the criminal justice system.

Entity (in presentation order) Representative

Police Bill Kilpatrick (Golden Police Chief)

Jail (County) Grayson Robinson (Arapahoe County Sheriff)
Pre-Trial Services Mike Jones (Manager, CJ Planning, Jefferson Co.)

Courts Gil Martinez (Chief Presiding Judge, 4th JD - Co Springs)

Prosecution Pete Hautzinger (DA, 21st JD)

Defense Doug Wilson (State Public Defender)

Probation Tom Quinn (Dir.)

DOC David Stephens (Chief of Beh. Health, Clinical Services)
Parole Todd Helvig (Manager, Community Mental Health Services)
Community Corrections Glenn Tapia (Comm. Corrections Training and Evaluation)

Victims Steven Siegel (Victim Rep, 2nd JD)
Dept. of Human Services Charlie Smith (Div. Deputy Dir.)

Panel Two: Behavioral Health Advocacy and Providers

Those advocating on behalf of, offering solutions for, or with priorities to address those with behavioral health issues in the criminal justice system.

Entity (in presentation order)	<u>Representative</u>
CO Division of Beh. Health	Janet Wood (Div. Dir.)

Mental Health Planning and Advisory Council Harriet Hall (Subcommittee Co-Chair)

Mental Health Roundtable Stephen Kopanos (Chair)

The Mighty Coalition George DelGrosso (Member; Exec. Dir., CBHC)

CO Coalition for the Homeless
CO Assoc. of Alcohol & Drug Service Providers
Louise Boris (V.P. of Programs)
Carmelita Muniz (Executive Dir.)

CO Behavioral Healthcare Council

CO National Alliance for the Mentally III

Doyle Forrestal (CBHC Dir. of Public Policy)

Nita Brown (Pres., Arapahoe/Douglas Co.)

[Primary contact: Lacey Berumen (Exec.Dir)

Mental Health America-Colorado Jeanne Rohner (Executive Dir.)

Metro Area County Commissioners: Paul Siska (Co-Chair; Adams Co. Undersheriff)

Mentally III Inmates TF (Advisory)

Mentally III in the Justice System TF Harriet Hall (Co-Chair; Pres. of Jefferson Ctr.)

Transformation Initiative

Behavioral Healthcare Cabinet (& Working Group) Leslie Herod (Governor's Office)
Transformation Grant Andy Keller (Tri-West, Inc.)

Commission Members (non-panelists)

Jeannie Ritter, First Lady (Special Guest)

Dean Conder, Chair, Juvenile Parole Board

Rhonda Fields, Victim's Representative

John Morse, State Senator, SD 11

Don Quick, DA, 17th JD

Ellen Roberts, State Repr., HD 59

Regis Groff, Former State Senator

Mark Scheffel , State Senator, SD 4

Regina Huerter, Denver Crime Prevention and Jeanne Smith, Dir., Division of Criminal Justice

Control Commission John Suthers, State Attorney General

Reo Leslie, CO School for Family Therapy
Claire Levy, State Repr., HD 13
David Michaud, Chair, Parole Board

Pete Weir, Exec. Dir., Dept. of Public Safety
Ari Zavaras, Exec. Dir., Dept. of Corrections
Debbie Zwirn, County Commissioner, 13th JD

Inta Morris, Department of Higher Education