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L@ﬂ Pyramid of Evidence Based Practices

Przybylski’s (2008) What
Works: Effective Recidivism
Reduction and Risk-Focused

Prevention Programs
prepared for the
Commission on Criminal and
Juvenile Justice

2/ Weta-Analytic

6 Clinica
With Di

Expert
Panel
Review

& of Research

Evidence

Studies

National Academy of Sciences National Research Council
2008 Report on Parole, Desistance from Crime, and
Community Integration.

Statistical method that synthesizes many individual
studies into one large study with many subjects;
adheres to pre-established protocol to select

| Trial Replications
tferent Populations

Literature Reviews
Analyzing Studies

Multiple Quasi-Experimental Studies

Quasi-Experimental

Single Group Pre/Post

studies; calculates an average effect size to reduce
bias and ensure comprehensiveness.

I single Study/Controlled Clinical Trial

e Multi-Site, Single Group Design

Most Colorado
studies of criminal
justice programs

Case Studies

Pilot Studies

Observational Experience
Descriptive Writing
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Established Clinical Practice

Pyramid source: Co-Occurring Center for
Excellence (COCE), funded through the
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services
Administration (SAMHSA). Available at,
http://www.coce.samhsa.gov/cod_resources/
PDF/OP5-Practices-8-13-07.pdf
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“ Colorado Commission on Criminal and Juvenile Justice

A few
Commission

accomplishments
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 Clarify jail time credits/jail inmates awarded earned time (2008)
e 7220 bed days saved annually in Arapahoe County alone
(5490,960/year)

 Mandate that parolees receive credit for time spent in jail
pending a technical parole revocation (2008)
e HB09-1263

* Eliminate statutes that require mandatory revocation /
suspension of driver’s license for conviction of non-driving
offense (exclude child support enforcement) (2008)

e HB09-1266:
e In FY09, 10,746 lost license
e In FY10, 1,055 lost license
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* Increased the age of eligibility to 19 for individuals sentenced to
the DOC’s Youthful Offender System (2009)
e HB09-1122

* Introduce a structured decision-making guide for use by the
Colorado parole board (2009)
e SB09-135/HB10-1374/SB11-241
e Colorado Parole Board Release Guidelines Instrument
 Annual report of progress and findings

 Expand probation eligibility for those with multiple felony
convictions (2009)
e HB10-1338
e Estimated to save $S2.5M in DOC costs
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e Exclude drug possession as a qualifying crime for habitual
offense charging (2010)
e SB11-096

* Provide for sealing certain drug offenses (2010)
e HB 11-0164

e Clarify registration requirements for sex offenders who lack a
fixed residence (2011)
e HB12-1278

 Removing most walkaway “escapes” as crimes eligible for
habitual criminal sentencing (2011)
e HB12-1213
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(« DruglawReforms

2009-2012

Increase treatment availability prior to restructuring drug laws
(2009)

* Increase in Persistent Drunk Driver Surcharge ($550,000/year)
(HB 10-1347)

e Drug offender surcharge assessed doubled (HB10-1352)

e §1,545,409 for community corrections treatment beds (HB10-
1360)

e $2,057,225 services for parolees (HB10-1360)

* First S2M in medical marijuana sales/use tax fund substance
abuse treatment programs (HB10-1284)
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@ Drug Law Reforms

e SB13-250: created new drug grid, DF1-DF4/DM1,2, petty

DRUG LEVEL PRESUMPTIVE AGGRAVATED PAROLE
RANGE RANGE
DF 1 8 — 32 years n/a 3 years
DF 2 4 — 8 years 8 — 16 years 2 years
DF 3 2 -4 years 4 -6 years 1 year
DF 4 6 months — 1 year 1-2years 1 year
MINIMUM MAXIMUM
DM 1 6 months, $500 fine 18 months, $5,000
or both fine or both
DM 2 S50 fine 12 months, $750
fine or both

* Allows a “wobbler” - Court may vacate the felony conviction and enter a misdemeanor
conviction if defendant completes community based sentence (certain cases ineligible

based on prior record)
» Effective October 2013
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@ Theft Statute Reforms

2013-14
Restructuring theft classifications (HB 13-1160)

BEFORE AFTER

Offense Offense

Level Level

- $1M and up
$20K and up S$100K - S1M
S1K -$20K S20K - $100K
$1K -S20K (rental property) S5K - $20K

- S2K - S5K
$500 - S1K $750 - S2K
Less than $500 $300 - $750

- $100-$300

- Less than $100

HB14-1266—thresholds applied to criminal mischief, fraud by check, defrauding a secured
creditor, and unauthorized use of a financial transaction device, and computer crime
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, Theft Statute Reforms

Offense Level | Value Offense Level Value
S20K and up $1Mand up
S1K -$20K $100K - $1M
$1K -$20K (rental property) $20K - $100K
$5K - $20K
2K - $5K
$500 - $1K S2K-5
Less than $500 TEVEHS
ess thal $300 - $750
$100-$300
Less than $100

70% 66%

60%

H.B. 13-1160 was signed
into law on June 5, 2013. In

the following tables cases 50% mF3

filed in the six months after _—
H.B. 13-1160 was enacted

were compared to cases o mF5
s ; 40%

filed in the same six month 34%

period (July to December) HF6
of the previous year (2012).

Denver County court 30% mM1
records were not included. M2
Figure: Cases with Theft 20% m M3
C.R.S. 18-4-401) as most

( ) mPO1

serious filing charge pre-
and post- H.B. 13-1160, by 10%
offense level.

0% 0%

0%

Pre (N=3182) Post (N=3069)
Data source: Court records were extracted from Judicial Branch’s Integrated Colorado Online Network (ICON) information management
system via the Colorado Justice Analytics Support System (CJASS) and analyzed by DCJ/ORS. Excludes Denver County court records.
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Juvenile Justice Reforms

2013/2018

 House Bill 13-1021. Clarified truancy and absence definitions

e Senate Bill 13-229. Revised escape from a non-custodial facility
for those 18+ as a misdemeanor not a felony, and

e Senate Bill 13-229. Allowed juveniles who committed a sex
offense to deregister as an adult after successful completion of
the sentence.

e Senate Bill 18-154. Defines crossover youth and crossover plan in
statute and requires local Juvenile Services Planning Committees
to devise a crossover plan for the identification and notification of
cases involving crossover youth, and utilizes existing funds for
local crossover youth plans and services.
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@J Bail Bond Reforms

2012/2013

e Bail reform Implement evidence-based decision making practices
* Discourage the use of financial bond for pretrial detainees

* HB 13-1236

e Use of Personal Recognizance has increased in most judicial districts
and the use of cash/surety bonds has decreased

Court and bond type cre 05k
% N % N
Misdemeanor/traffic 68% 209,646 66% 227,079
Cash/Surety/Property 84% 176,763 73% 165,034
Personal Recognizance 16% 32,883 27% 62,045
Felony 32% 98,542 34% 118,958
Cash/Surety/Property 88% 87,203 79% 94,234
Personal Recognizance 12% 11,339 21% 24,724
Total 100% 308,188 100% 346,037
Colorado Commission on Criminal & Juvenile Justice Commission Foundation
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Mental Health/Jails Reforms
2017/2018

Senate Bill 17- 207

e Strengthen Colorado’s statewide response to behavioral health
crises

 Changes to Emergency Mental Health Commitment Statute
e Elimination of the use of jails for those with mental health

holds
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Mental Health/Jails Reforms

2017/2018

Introduce Mental Health First Aid® curriculum for inclusion in the POST
basic academy

Officials from the Colorado Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) will work
with staff from the Colorado Behavioral Health Council (CBHC) to review the Mental
Health First Aid® curriculum, and modify when possible, for inclusion in the POST
basic academy standard curriculum.

Include the Mental Health First Aid® curriculum for peace officer in-
service training through POST

e Officials from the Colorado Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) will work
with staff from the Colorado Behavioral Health Council (CBHC) to review and
include Mental Health First Aid® training through POST.

* Train up to 200 officers per month on this topic.

e Training to begin in the spring of 2017.
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Mental Health/Jails Reforms
2017/2018

Senate Bill 18- 249

 Develop pre-file mental health diversion pilot programs
 Develop post-arrest, pre-file diversion programs specifically
for individuals experiencing mental health disorders and who
meet specific criteria and are determined able to benefit
from diversion to treatment rather than being processed
through the criminal justice system.

* Create pre-file mental health diversion programs that utilize a
stakeholder-created, reviewed and approved model.
Promote the utilization of Adult Pretrial Diversion Programs
and funding.
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@ Other Recent Commission Bills

2017/2018

House Bill 17-1147. Codifies the mission and purpose of
Community Corrections in language similar to that of Parole as
enacted by SB 16-1215.

House Bill 17-1308. Updates the statute governing parole
conditions, C.R.S. 17-2-201, to give the parole board and
community parole officers discretion to select individualized
conditions of parole.
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Other Recent Commission Bills

2017/2018

House Bill 18-1344. Updates Orders of Collateral Relief is statute to:

e Allow eligible individuals to request an order of collateral relief
after the time of sentencing,

e Eliminate duplicative statutory language regarding orders of
collateral relief, and

e Create an order of collateral relief in the Children’s Code.

House Bill 18-1418. Revise statuary guidance on state licensure and
employment to prevent consideration of arrests that did not result
in a conviction, and convictions that have been pardoned, sealed or
expunged, in state licensure and employment decisions.
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